Millennial looking for her first T25!

Hi all!

I’m Caitlin and I’m looking to purchase my first campervan, and alas, I’ve fallen for the notorious rust-bucket 1980s era T25.

Same as many of us ‘millenials’ (ugh), I’m into the #vanlife movement, and I’m keen to know more about these beautiful vans before committing.

I’ve been driving for six years now, and I have an energetic border collie whom I would love to travel Scotland (and afar) with. I’m a keen hillwalker, and spend a lot of my summer days in the Highlands in my Suzuki Swift, but as driving in Holland taught me, Schwifty is not comfortable to sleep in. My caravan site in fort william has recently upped it’s nightly charges, therefore I’m keen to get my own camper to save myself costs on travelling so much, before I succumb to the Vanlife movement indefinitely in a few years.

I’m keen to know your backgrounds and history’s with the T25, I’m a DIY fanatic, and I come from an artistic past, so I’m up for a bit of a project.

My question is, is there such thing as a cheap T25 that isn’t going to cost me a fortune in welding costs?! biggrin.gif

Not many cheap vans out there now . What is your budget ? Jigs will be selling a t25 camper soon and Sean is selling a t25 caravelle that needs paint

Hi caitlin welcome in.

Buy cheap buy twice as the old saying goes, buy the best you can afford is probably the best advice. I would always buy the van with the least amount of rust as the rest is cosmetic !
Why not pop along to one of our meets and have a chat with some folk.

True, I’m scoping out one in Fife just now, hoping to pull some strings and get for £1100, nothing this side of the border seems to be in good nick :frowning:

When is your next meet? I’m looking for something in the next month or so as I’m keen to get out hillwalking before the end of the month!